750 Words

If additional proof were ever needed of my utter nerdhood–beyond my taking Latin and Organic Chem for kicks in college, beyond my getting excited about a book of essays about scientific studies, beyond my choice to wear T-shirts with numbers on them, special, important, magical numbers, but still numbers–I have the final clinching bit of evidence.

Right here.

These are statistics.  My statistics.  To be more specific, my words–brain effluvia much less fascinating in its original content than it is converted to pie charts and tag clouds.  And yes, I am aware that this is simply a variety of algorithms run over the 750 odd words I put down in sixteen minutes of self-conscious whining and wandering.  It actually just makes it more fascinating to see all those ideas quantified and summarized so that– though it was gibberish to begin–now looks as though it means something.

I love statistics.  Charts and graphs can make the obscure clear, the excessive succinct, the scattered and meaningless a shining beacon of direction.  It’s algorithmic fortune-telling using my words as its tea leaves.  I could pick those pie charts apart.  (Who am I kidding, I’ll do that later, maybe at 2 am, focusing especially on that “self-important” wedge.) But for the time being I’m just fascinated that someone took the time to code all that into a website.  Beyond that, I’m delighted that the same someone felt the need to dangle a carrot in front of all us writers needing one more push over the “Sit down and freaking write! Anything! Gibberish! A grocery list!  Just write something damn it!” hump.

And if it’s the carrot of a little statistical fortune at the end of 750 words every day, maybe I’ll get back to writing my “3 pages”.

Regardless, 750words is a brilliant idea.  And look, Buster, not only did I write my 750, I wrote this, too.  From one nerd to another, thanks.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 750 Words

  1. Leyla says:

    Ah, Christie, I adore you! You have such a wonderful brain, and I love the fact that you love numbers. The funny thing is that although I was always bad at math in school, I find myself fascinated by numbers as an adult. It’s the numbers that motivates me in my teaching oftentimes, seeing the hard evidence of student progress. It’s numbers that motivates me when I’m trying to lose weight: calories, exercise minutes, weight, etc. I just like to count things and track things in order to have an objective view on an otherwise subjective experience. Way to go with your 750 words!

Leave a Reply

